Pam

Pam’s good deed for the day

In Entertainment, Humor, Television, The Office, Work on October 22, 2008 at 2:50 am
Your most reliable source for Election 2008.

Your most reliable source for Election 2008.

As I mentioned earlier, Michael likes to spout off about his political views. Only one person will really fight him on them: Todd Packer.

Todd and Michael don’t work together often. Usually Todd just stops by the office when he’s in town, causes a lot of problems and talks obnoxiously loud.

Today was no different. Though they are friends, Todd and Michael have drastically different political views. Usually their banter is jovial, but today Todd came in with guns blazing ready to pummel Michael with his latest political ammunition, trying to stump him. As if stumping MICHAEL would somehow be a victory for his entire political party.

As Todd started throwing partisan punches, using half-truths and manipulated facts mixed with a little reality, Michael started getting really defensive. But he couldn’t keep Todd at bay long enough to take control of the conversation. And the more Michael tried to contradict Todd, the louder Todd got.

I thought about walking over and shutting Michael’s door to spare the rest of us from this ridiculous display. But I knew that that would only draw Todd’s attention to myself. Plus, even though Michael invites this kind of trouble on himself, it seemed too mean to leave him hanging.

So I called Michael on the phone instead.

Todd huffed.

“Oh sure! Saved by the phone!” he bellowed. “I gotta go anyway.” He stormed off and I turned so he wouldn’t see the phone to my ear.

Michael saw my name on the caller ID as he answered.

“Thank you, thank you, thank you,” he said once Todd was clear. Then he yelled out into the main office, “Will someone give this girl a raise!”

Jim teased me about being a brown-noser. Eh. I got Todd out of the office. Sometimes self-preservation can help others, too. Plus, it’s exhausting being angry at Michael ALL the time.

Leave a comment